Leukopenia : What Is It?

White blood cells (WBCs) are an important part of the immune system, which is why they are called as “fighter cells”. There are five different types of white blood cells (WBCs) in our body. They are neutrophils, eosinophils, basophils, monocytes, and lymphocytes. Each type of WBC has a specific role in fighting infections.

Leukopenia is defined as the decrease in the number of WBCs (leukocytes) in the blood. Generally, white blood cells (WBCs) in adults should not go below 4,000 WBC per microliter of blood, which is considered as a low white blood cell (WBC) count.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s